1

Military and Veteran Affairs

The Military and Veteran Affairs Office (MAVA) serves the needs of prospective and enrolled active military personnel, veterans, their dependents and survivors. MAVA aides in application and certification for students who are eligible to receive education benefits under various Department of Veteran Affairs (DVA) programs. In this role, the MAVA team facilitates smooth transition and reintegration into the college community. We provide supplemental recruitment and retention efforts, various counseling and one-on-one advisement services, priority registration, academic program information, and certify eligible students to receive DVA education benefits while maintaining productive relations with the Veterans Administration and other agencies serving veterans. 

The MAVA Team works closely with many campus departments, and have created a point of contact bridge. Please see our list of support offices and the POC appointed for any inquiries

Admissions Services (The Village)
Mary Smith
, Assistant Director
Office: V-100
Email: Mary.Smith@kbcc.cuny.edu
Phone: 718-368-6755

Bursar's Office
Zoya Furmanov
, College Account Assistant
Office: A-205
Email: Zoya.Furmanov@kbcc.cuny.edu
Phone: 718-368-5416

Office of Student Affairs
Brian Mitra
, Dean
Office: A-216
Phone: 718-368-5563

Registrar (Office of Student Records)
Davida Cooper
, Associate Registrar
Office: A-101
Email: Davida.Cooper@kbcc.cuny.edu
Phone: 718-368-5421

Financial Aid Office
Robert Gevertzman
, Associate Director/Perkins Loan Coordinator
Office: U-201
Email: Robert.Gevertzman@kbcc.cuny.edu
Phone: 718-368-4644

Office of Freshman Services
Hanane Elabid, Associate Director
Office: F-123
Email: Hanane.Elabid@kbcc.cuny.edu
Phone: 718-368-4806

Center for Career Development and Experiential Learning
Marisa Joseph,  Director
Office: C-102
Email: Marisa.Joseph@kbcc.cuny.edu
Phone: 718-368-5115

Transfer Success Center
Melissa Merced, Director
Office: M-101
Email: Melissa.Merced@kbcc.cuny.edu
Phone: 718-368-4911

Counseling and Health Services
Ilona Fridson
,
Psychological Counselor & Outreach Coordinator
Office: D-102
Email: Ilona.Fridson@kbcc.cuny.edu
Phone: 718-368-5975

Access-Ability Services
Gail Glass-Malley
, Intake Coordinator/Counselor
Office: D-205
Email: Gail.GlassMalley@kbcc.cuny.edu
Phone: 718-368-5175

The Women's Center
Frances Robinson
, Program Manager
Office: M-382
Email: Frances.Robinson@kbcc.cuny.edu
Phone: 718-368-4700

BMI/Men's Resource Center
Michael Rodriguez
, Program Manager
Office: U-218
Email: Michael.Rodriguez@kbcc.cuny.edu
Phone: 718-368-5864

In accordance with Title 38 US Code 3679 subsection (e), this school adopts the following additional provisions for any students using U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs (VA) Post 9/11 G.I. Bill® (Ch. 33) or Vocational Rehabilitation and Employment (Ch. 31) benefits, while payment to the institution is pending from the VA.  This school will not:

  • Prevent nor delay the student’s enrollment;
  • Assess a late penalty fee to the student;
  • Require the student to secure alternative or additional funding;
  • Deny the student access to any resources available to other students who have satisfied their tuition and fee bills to the institution, including but not limited to access to classes, libraries, or other institutional facilities.

However, to qualify for this provision, such students may be required to:

  • Produce the Certificate of Eligibility by the first day of class;
  • Provide written request to be certified;
  • Provide additional information needed to properly certify the enrollment as described in other institutional policies. 

 

Want to learn more about CUNY Army ROTC?
 
 

2