Kingsborough College
Inside KCC Button
Skip Navigation Links
Foreign Languages at Kingsborough  

Welcome to the Department of Foreign Languages

Main Office: E-309; Telephone # (718) 368-5403; FAX (718) 368-5943

In keeping with the basic philosophy of the Department of Foreign Languages, the fundamental objectives of the Department are: to familiarize students with a culture, language and literature other than their own; to provide language students with the skills and knowledge necessary for effective communication in the foreign language; and to provide adequate training for those who plan to continue their language study in senior college and for those who plan to enter one of the many professional fields that require a mastery of a foreign language.

The Department of Foreign Languages is dedicated to helping students discover the world through the study of language, literature, and culture. Our goal is to provide students with the means to scrutinize their own world view and challenge their capacity to identify with people of differing backgrounds. We endeavor to motivate in students an appreciation and understanding of the world's people so that they may leave Kingsborough with the ability and the desire to communicate and empathize with others.

The Department of Foreign Languages emphasizes the variety and integrity of our programs, the skill and competence of our graduates, and the importance of our efforts within the vocational and career-oriented mission of our community college. To this end, our courses and programs of study: help students discover their capacity as language learners; provide students with the appropriate language skills to enable them to communicate effectively and function in their chosen profession; enable students to acquire and incorporate knowledge of the tools and organizational proficiency needed for language and cultural studies; inspire students to think critically in the humanistic tradition about texts and language; instill in our students the positive nature of cultural differences.

This includes mutual respect and concern for one another, openness to questions and risk taking, and a focus on excellence and engagement in active learning. Our faculty is responsible for facilitating learning and guiding students toward the accomplishment of established educational outcomes.

WelcomeWelcomeWelcome 

Bienvenidos, Bienvenu, Benvenuti

 

    

Chair: Dr. Alfonso J. García Osuna

Alfonso.GarciaOsuna@kbcc.cuny.edu

Department Secretary: Terry Bass

Terry.Bass@kbcc.cuny.edu

                            

Student at KCC


                 

CHAIRPERSON

OFFICE

PHONE EXTENSION

EMAIL ADDRESS

Dr. Alfonso Garcia Osuna

E309A

5403      

Alfonso.GarciaOsuna@kbcc.cuny.edu

 

 

 

 

STAFF

 

 

 

Terry Bass

E309

5403

Terry.Bass@kbcc.cuny.edu

 

 

 

 

FULL TIME FACULTY

 

 

 

Dr. Maria Hernandez

E315

5217

Maria.Hernandez@kbcc.cuny.edu

Dr. Frantz Leconte

E214

5210

Frantz.Leconte@kbcc.cuny.edu

Alfredo Munozalarcon

E301

5889

Alfredo.Munozalarcon@kbcc.cuny.edu

Joachim Oppenheim

E316

5286

Joachim.Oppenheim@kbcc.cuny.edu

Dr. Gloria Pollack

E325

5276      

Gloria.Pollack@kbcc.cuny.edu

Angela Toscano

E213

5810

Angela.Toscano@kbcc.cuny.edu

 

 

 

 

ADJUNCTS

 

 

 

John Arias

E303

5287

John.Arias@kbcc.cuny.edu

Frank Armada   

E303

5287

Frank.Armada@kbcc.cuny.edu

Patricio Bueno

E322

5575

Patricio.Bueno@kbcc.cuny.edu

Natale Caruso

E322

5575

Natale.Caruso@kbcc.cuny.edu

Martha Diaz

E322

5575

Martha.Diaz@kbcc.cuny.edu

Roldolfo Gonzalez

M319

5158

Roldolfo.Gonzalez@kbcc.cuny.edu

Stephen Howard

E322      

5575

Stephen.Howard@kbcc.cuny.edu

Robert Schwartz

E303      

5287

Robert.Schwartz@kbcc.cuny.edu

Shenghu Wang

M319

5158

Shenghu.Wang@kbcc.cuny.edu

Sonia Zervakos

M319

5158

Sonia.Zervakos@kbcc.cuny.edu


Spanish  Area French  Area Italian  Area Hebrew & Yiddish  Area  Arabic Language (Arab League Flag)


kccFacebook KCCTwitter
Privacy Statement | GAINFUL EMPLOYMENT | Disclaimer | LIAISONS | Text Only | IT Accessibility |

Kingsborough Community College
2001 Oriental Boulevard, Brooklyn, NY 11235-2398 | (718)-368-5000
Kingsborough is CUNY
Make This Website Talk